Surprised by Grace

25 04 2008

One way to assist people getting to practice on time is by instituting a monetary fine if a person is late. Everybody is on board with this, and we use the proceeds for dinner or breakfast for everybody anyway, when time permits. But as of late we’ve gotten quite lax on this, not having charged anybody in at least the last 2 months.

Last week, only 4 of us were there on time. I told those on-timers that I would “lay the smack down”, only partially understanding what the idiom meant. As soon as 7pm hit (according to Verizon time) anybody to walk into our Northloop building after that would officially be late.

Everybody got there, and I said that they’d be fined. They protested and cried out for mercy. I said, “I’ll leave it to the other three who were on time to decide”. One said “justice”, another said “mercy”. The third “on-timer”, Dominic (keyboards), wasn’t in the room at the time. I said that it would be up to him when he returned to the room, at which point Jeff (electric guitar) defeatedly said, “ah, it’s over. No mercy comes from that guy”.

Dominic returned to the room. I didn’t tell him that his vote would be the swing when I asked him what his vote was. He calmly said, “I say let them off this week”…

Now whatever spiritual lesson you might want to gather from this, I’ll leave that up to you. My take away lesson is, “you never know when you’ll be surprised by…”

 

 

“… Dominic.”

 

Actions

Information

3 responses

30 04 2008
del

dominic the merciful!

1 05 2008
Dom

that’s right…

28 05 2008
maurice

…and the humble.

Leave a Reply

