Maranatha

20 05 2008

The last words of the Bible are “Come, Lord” (maran ‘atha), sentiments of longing for the second coming of Jesus Christ. It’s a sentiment that I’ve experienced recently in light of the current status of this world. Food shortages, earthquakes and cyclones, pain, suffering, death, grief and mourning. There was even a shooting last week over at the UC Berkeley campus.  When you look around at the world in all its dark reality, you get the strong sense that this world just isn’t the way it was supposed to be.  The Christian worldview explains that God created a perfect universe for us to have authority over.  When man denied God’s authority over us, we denied the authority God bestowed upon us over creation as well. 

2008.05.18 Songs
God of Our Yesterdays – Matt Redman
You Never Let Go – Matt Redman
What a Day – Greg Ferguson

I experience the sentiment also when I look inside myself and see the darkness within me, the sin that I own, yet owns me.  The brokenness of this world isn’t just the world being so in and of itself, but my brokenness causing it to be so, as well.  Natural disasters destroy lives and ruin homes. My sin destroys relationships with others and with God, and ruin and defile my own soul, making an indelible mark on the moral fabric of this universe. 

These are the things that bring me to long for heaven, long for Jesus’ return, when all that is broken and ruined in this world will righted, and “every tear will be wiped away. There will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain.” That’s what Christians have to look forward to. A greater reality than our current state here on earth. What a day that will be.

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

