Upon Which I Stand

4 06 2008

Certain skills and abilities come in handy in different situations.  Apologetics training and philosophy classes in college help me to answer tough questions with regard to the Christian faith.  Years of musical training and experience in leading worship come in handy when asked to lead our congragation in worship under short notice.  Perhaps even having worked at Circuit City in high school might contribute to boldness in outreaching to strangers (who knows?…).  But none of these things will prove any benefit or utility for me when my Lord returns and I come face to face with the Almighty:  He as my righteous Judge, and I as the criminal. None of those things does anything to my status as a sinner, one who is guilty as charged.  

2008.06.01 Songs
Unchanging – Chris Tomlin
Where the Love Lasts Forever – Hillsong United
The Stand – Hillsong United

What, then, will I stand upon when that day comes? Certainly nothing from within me. No, I must rely on the gospel (good news, or good story) of Jesus Christ, who died in my stead, whose blood covers me so that I will be considered as righteous before God.

Psalm 62:5-7
Hebrews 9:27-28
Romans 8:35-39

Covered by Your love divine
Child of the risen Lord
To hear You say, “This one’s mine”
My heart is spoken for…
        — “Spoken For”, MercyMe

On that final day, all I can do is simply turn to Jesus, looking to him to speak on my behalf.  It will be completely in his hands.  His claim over me, that I belong to him is what will carry me over into heaven, to be with him.  On my own, I will fall.  Upon him, my Mighty Rock, I will stand.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

