Gracepoint Fellowship Church SWS- “Proven Truth”

1 07 2008

Apostle Paul receives these words from God. "My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness". We come to a deeper appreciation of grace when we recognize our need for it, don’t we? Ever come to a point in your life when you said something, did something, or even thought something proving to yourself and probably to others that you’re not the person that you thought you were? I sure have. Any assertions of patience about myself is simply blown away by flares of temper, petty annoyances and irritation, affecting the people that are closest to me.

2008.06.29 Songs
New Doxology – Gateway Worship
Your Grace Is Enough – Chris Tomlin
From the Inside Out – Hillsong United
The Stand – Hillsong United

Perhaps we think that we’re particularly loving until, when the rubber meets the road, that love is withheld and selfishness seems to abound. Ever come to a point where you’ve proven to yourself that you’re not who you think you are?

Whatever way I’ve used to deal with it — making excuses or blaming the circumstances — when I look inside myself honestly before God, I know that I can’t fix myself. This is the way that I am. I might’ve thought I was loving, sacrificial, or generous. But my life and reality reflect the contrary. I lift that up to God and say, "Father, I don’t want to make excuses anymore. I’ll lay all of that down." And that’s when I experience grace.

God knows the truth about me, about us all. Coming to understand his grace in the specificity of acknowledging and confessing my sins brings me to a deep gratitude, and trust. Trust in his promise that even though I may fail in the same ways over and over again, his grace remains to pick me up each time. Everlasting kindness, unending love, amazing grace.

James Kim
Gracepoint Fellowship Church – Worship Director

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

