Favorite Song?

3 09 2009

As I was picking out the set for our Koinonia Welcome Night tonight, it occurred to me that, gee, this would be a lot easier if I knew what songs people enjoy singing! Picking out sets, we always try to be mindful of what songs and lyrics are singable, sound good, and most importantly, best lead others into a time of worship. So please comment and let me know what those songs are for you! It’ll make our job a whole lot easier. =P

Also, if you’re thinking… “What ever happened to that one song that we used to sing all the time?? I loved that song!” Let me know about it, and maybe we’ll bring it back at one of our Koinonia Bible studies this semester!

– Jon Chou, Koinonia praise leader

Actions

Information

15 responses

3 09 2009
Emmeline

It’s nearly impossible to pick a favorite song, but I do have lots to say about the “Whatever happened to…”

It makes me sad when perfectly good songs get thrown prematurely into the “old” pile, never to be sung again, lost to subsequent generations…only to be resurrected at a campfire years later where only three people know the song.

Here’s a song that’s not even that old, but has been lost amidst the flurry of new songs we roll out. “Only One For Me” by Gateway Worship!

Can we sing it ONCE more?! Thanks!!!!!!! 🙂

3 09 2009
Wesley

I actually really enjoy hymns that are a little bit spiced up: Come Thou Fount, Come Thou King, Great Is They Faithfulness, and Before the Throne of God Above (I know it’s not technically a hymn, but it’s hymny!).

4 09 2009
kevin h

This Little Light of Mine !!

“Hide it under a bushel, NO!
I’m gonna let it shine”

4 09 2009
Mike K

New Life Worship: “Glorified”

Chris Tomlin: “How Great Is Our God”, “Your Grace Is Enough”

6 09 2009
Kevin D.

“Stir in Me”. It is a fairly old song, but I really liked this song back during Youth days and it has not really surfaced since.

8 09 2009
David Tung

Well, we sang my favorite song this past Sunday Worship Service – Come Thou Fount, the Willow Creek version. I really like this song – partly because the words really minister to me, especially this verse:

O to grace, how great a debtor
Daily I’m constrained to be
Let thy goodness like a fetter
Bind my wandering heart to thee
Prone to wander, Lord I feel it
Prone to leave the God I love
Here’s my heart, Lord, take and seal it
Seal it for thy courts above

And in addition to the words, I really like the piano part as well! Fun to hear, stressful to play, though!

10 09 2009
Albert Youn

I like “Above All” (Paul Baloche has a nice version), and “House of the Lord”

11 09 2009
Steven

In Christ Alone! Awesome lyrics and very nice melody. I think it’s kinda hard to play though.

14 09 2009
Franklin

A couple songs we brought back to SF Praise this past few of weeks:

I Will Run To You
Let Me Be (Caedmon’s Call)

27 09 2009
Amy Le

Some of the songs that I like….
What can I bring
Knowing you
Inside out
Devotion

14 10 2009
Wynn

What about offering by Paul Baloche?

18 10 2009
Sang-a

Would you play the God of the City please???????
I am missing this song….

8 11 2009
Michael Chen

Here In My Life by Hillsong

27 12 2009
Julia Martinez

Revelation Song and Alabaster Jar by Gateway Worship.

27 12 2009
Julia Martinez

Revelation Song and Alabaster Jar by Gateway Worship

Leave a Reply

