Songs from Prayer Worship Service: “Come, follow me…”

28 02 2010

Mark 1:17 “Come, follow me,” Jesus said, “and I will make you fishers of men.”

As we began our inductive study through the book of Mark this past week, today’s prayer worship service focused on the theme of “Follow me,” Jesus’ invitation to his first disciples.

We sang “Follow You,” another song from Leeland’s latest album, Love is On the Move.  This song actually features Brandon Heath on vocals.

Follow You

You live among the least of these
The weary and the weak
And it would be a tragedy for me to turn away

All my needs you have supplied
When I was dead You gave me life
How could I not give it away so freely?

And I’ll follow You into the homes of the broken
Follow You into the world
Meet the needs for the poor and the needy, God
Follow You into the world

Use my hands use my feet
To make Your kingdom come
To the corners of the earth
Until Your work is done

‘Cause faith without works is dead
And on the cross Your blood was shed
So how could we not give it away so freely?

I give all myself.
I give all myself
I give all myself to You

And I’ll follow You into the homes of the broken
Follow You into the world
Meet the needs for the poor and the needy, God
Follow You into the world

We were also blessed by the bluesy and soulful 2003 oldie-but-goodie from Michael Card’s album A Fragile Stone, “I Left Everything To Follow You.”

I Left Everything to Follow You

Though sometimes I grow weary when the road’s getting long
At each point of my weakness You make me strong
And when doubt takes over I remember it’s true
I left everything to follow You

To stay safe or to follow You asked me to choose
But how could I fail when I’ve got nothing left to lose?
Without Your call I couldn’t make it, it’d be impossible to do
To leave everything and follow You

Everything to follow
Everything to follow
Everything to follow You

But what is my petty offering compared to Your sacrifice?
I gave up my home, but You left Paradise
And what You called me to offer has really set me free
‘Cause You left everything to be with me

So with joy I embrace a faith that calls me from home
And I will cling to Your promise that I am never alone
And with each passing moment I’ll keep hoping it’s true
I left everything to follow You

Everything to follow
Everything to follow
Everything to follow You

Actions

Information

One response

1 03 2010
jennchen

Thanks for posting these! I didn’t know either song, but was so blessed reading/singing the lyrics of each song!

Leave a Reply

